Skip to content Skip to navigation

JRAI Special Issue Online Launch: Mind and Spirit: A Comparative Theory

Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Mind and Spirit: A Comparative Theory

JRAI Special Issue Online Launch

Mind and Spirit: A Comparative Theory 

With the special issue editor Professor Tanya Luhrmann (Stanford University) and assessor Professor Nick Long (LSE), plus contributors (Felicity Aulino, Joshua Brahinsky, John Dulin, Vivian Afi Dzokoto, Emily Ng, Rachel E. Smith, Kara Weisman)

This is an online event, please register for it here: 
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/2215897971174/WN_CTze3eIASGmQxetAFADQmw

Friday 29 May 2020 at 4:00 pm
Other time zones: 5pm CEST (Central European Summer Time) / 11am EDT (East Coast US) / 8am PDT (Pacific Daylight Time)

Does the way we think about our minds matter? Our judgments about what counts as thought are so intimate that we may not even realize that we make them. But we do—and the way we make them has real consequences for our sense of the real.

The Mind and Spirit project found that the way people think about thinking shapes the way they experience (what they take to be) gods and spirits. We are a team of anthropologists and psychologists who worked together for two years across sites in the United States, Ghana, Thailand, China, and Vanuatu. We argue in this collection that there are cultural differences in the way social worlds represent “the mind” —we call these local theories of mind—and that these differences affect whether and how people, for instance, hear the voice of the dead or feel the presence of god. We find that the way people think about thought and interiority may alter something so basic as human sensory experience.

You can see the Special Issue online here https://rai.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/toc/14679655/2020/26/S1