Skip to content Skip to navigation


Undergraduate and graduate students share ideas and opportunities at annual dinner

The Department of Anthropology hosted their annual Undergraduate and Graduate Student Dinner on April 5th 2017.  Students were invited to meet with current Anthro Undergraduate and Graduate students, learn more about their personal interests within the field, and further explore the many exciting opportunities available through the Department of Anthropology!

After introductions, students engaged in lively conversation and invaluable networking over dinner catered by Farm Hill!

Professor James Fox wins the 2016 Richard W. Lyman Award

Anthropology Associate Professor James A. Fox was recently awarded the 2016 Richard W. Lyman award in honor of his outstanding commitment and engagement with Stanford alumni over the past 45 years.  The award, established in 1983 in President Emeritus Richard W. Lyman's honor, was presented to Fox at a private dinner on November 10,. 2016.  The Award recognizes one outstanding faculty member for extraordinary service to the alumni community and Stanford Alumni Association programs.

Tanya Luhrmann's new book examines the root causes of schizophrenia

Schizophrenia has long puzzled researchers in the fields of psychiatric medicine and anthropology. Why is it that the rates of developing schizophrenia—long the poster child for the biomedical model of psychiatric illness—are low in some countries and higher in others? And why do migrants to Western countries find that they are at higher risk for this disease after they arrive? T. M. Luhrmann and Jocelyn Marrow argue that the root causes of schizophrenia are not only biological, but also sociocultural.

Anthropology Junior Anna Ntiriwah-Asare receives 2013 Dean's Award for Academic Achievement

Anthropology Junior Anna Ntiriwah-Asare is one of ten undergrads to be honored with 2013 Deans' Awards for Academic Achievement. The award, inaugurated in Spring 1988, is given each year to between five and ten extraordinary undergraduate students for "exceptional, tangible" intellectual achievements.


Subscribe to RSS - Announcements